Top of pageSkip to main content
Main content

Scholar Staff

Program Staff

The Emory College Woodruff Scholars Program full-time staff supports the growth and development of our student scholars and helps create exceptional experiences through community events, advising, and managing the operations and logistics of the scholarships, programming, and opportunities.

Amy E. Lebo, Ph.D.

Amy E. Lebo holds a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Oregon and is an undergraduate alum of Emory University. Prior to her return to Emory to direct the Scholars Program, Amy was a philosophy professor and associate dean at a liberal arts college in Ohio for 15 years. She has supported high achieving students through leading an honors program, undergraduate research programs, and advising for national fellowships. She is active in national organizations related to honors programs and colleges and scholars programs and serves as a program reviewer for the National Collegiate Honors Council.

In the Emory College Scholars Program, Amy is particularly focused on programming related to student learning and assessment as well as the selection of new scholars. She also oversees the distribution of many Emory College endowed scholarships outside of the scope of the Scholars Program, and supports the faculty leadership of Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the country.

Janet Gonzales
Associate Director

Janet Gonzales has an M.A. in occupational studies and a B.S. in management and marketing from California State University, Long Beach. Prior to working at Emory, Janet was a Senior Associate for the Milken Scholars, an initiative of the Milken Institute and Milken Family Foundation in Santa Monica, CA. After working for eight years in alumni relations at Cal State Long Beach, she pursued her passion of working with students with the Milken Scholars offering support to high achieving first generation college students and subsequently at Emory. She is active both on and off campus serving as a board member of the Undergraduate Scholars Program Administrators Association.

In the Emory Scholars Program, Janet oversees the operational needs of the program related to the recruitment events of new scholars, major programmatic events, and the scholars’ annual retreat. She manages the program budget and is the financial aid liaison for scholars. She also supports the operational needs of Phi Eta Sigma, Emory’s first-year honor society. 

Steven Blalock
Assistant Director

Steven serves as the assistant director of the Emory Scholars Program. Before joining Emory in the summer of 2022, he spent several years at The Ohio State University as a program coordinator for the Mershon Center for International Security Studies and then as a program manager for the International Affairs Scholars Program, a two-year, co-curricular program for students interested in global politics. Before transitioning to higher education, he worked as a legislative aide and legislative fellow to a former state senator in Ohio. As an international studies major in college, he has a special interest in promoting cross-cultural and international experiences to students.

In the Scholars Program, he is primarily responsible for the following:

  • Scholar advising and support, specifically regarding Emory policies, processes, and procedures; general education requirements; and Scholar-specific opportunities
  • Co-curricular development and Scholar-wide programming
  • Assists in the administration of Scholar funding opportunities
  • Serves as the staff liaison to the George W. Jenkins Scholars
  • Supports the recruitment and mentorship of Scholar Fellows
Lauren Cowan
Program Coordinator (Bobby Jones Program)

Lauren Cowan holds a M.Ed. in College Student Affairs and Administration from the University of Georgia and is an undergraduate of the University of Illinois at Chicago. Prior to her role as the Program Coordinator for the Bobby Jones Scholarship in the Emory Scholars Program, Lauren worked in the School of Medicine at Emory and in Residence Life at the University of Georgia.

In the Emory College Scholars Program, Lauren is the main contact for the Robert T. Jones, Jr. Scholarship, a post-baccalaureate exchange between Emory University and the University of St Andrews in Scotland. Lauren coordinates the selection process for the Scholars from Emory and organizes all aspects of the exchange by completing onboarding tasks for each group of Scholars including planning and implementing a weeklong orientation prior to the start of fall classes. Lauren also aids the Emory Scholars Program in the form of event support and supervision of the Scholar Fellows. 
Lhana Ormenyi
Program Coordinator
Lhana Ormenyi holds a B.A. in Urban Studies from Barnard College of Columbia University. Prior to Emory, they held program management and facilitator roles at the Brooklyn Bridge Park Conservancy and Barnard College. Lhana has a passion for building resilient, evidence-based program tools that respond to tangible community needs. In addition to their background in higher education, event planning, and non-profit administration, Lhana has worked as a theatre technical director, a beekeeper, and, briefly, a cheesemonger.

Within the Scholars Program, Lhana oversees internal and external communications and marketing, manages assessment and program data, and assists with program development and implementation.

Student Staff

Scholar Fellows work closely with the Emory College Woodruff Scholars Program full-time staff and each other to contribute to the achievement of program priorities. Scholar Fellows help with current operations, play a critical role in helping to set the culture and expectations of the Emory College Woodruff Scholars Program with current scholars, and serve as a role model of what it means to be a scholar.

Jordan Averett 25B
Robert W. Woodruff Scholar
Business Administration
Averett, Jordan.jpg
Jose Cerritos 24C
Robert W. Woodruff Scholar
Cerritos, Jose.jpg
Zimra Chickering 24C
Robert W. Woodruff Scholar
Art History
Chickering, Zimra.jpg
Dylan Gandy 24C
George W. Jenkins Scholar
Applied Mathematics
Gandy, Dylan.jpg
Aditi Mishra 22Ox 24C
Robert W. Woodruff Scholar
Philosophy, Politics, and Law
Mishra, Aditi.jpeg
Moyo Odugbemi 24C
Robert W. Woodruff Dean's Achievement Scholar
Human Health & Economics
Odugbemi, Moyo.jpg
Shreyas Rajagopal 24C
Robert W. Woodruff Debate Scholar
Rajagopal, Shreyas.jpg
Hanna Rice 25N
Robert W. Woodruff Debate Scholar
Emilio Rosas Gutierrez 25C
Robert W. Woodruff Scholar
Rosas Gutierrez, Emilio.jpg
Tina Shewarega 25C
Robert W. Woodruff Scholar
Quantitive Sciences and Economics
Colin Song 24C
Robert W. Woodruff Music Scholar
Song, Colin.jpg
Top of pageSkip to main content