Top of pageSkip to main content
Main content

Rhodes Scholarship

Early Decision Deadline: 4:00 PM (ET), April 15, 2021

Internal Deadline: 4:00 PM (ET), August 26, 2021

Open to: Rising seniors and recent graduates
Award Type: Academic
Area(s) of study: All fields
Award criteria: academic achievement; leadership
Award provides: Full cost of education for degrees in any field at the University of Oxford
Open to international students: The U.S. competition is open to U.S. Citizens, lawful U.S. Permanent Residents, and DACA recipients; there are additional Rhodes opportunities for international students, including the Rhodes Global Scholarship and country specific competitions.**

Are you interested in opportunities to pursue graduate study abroad or in the US? If you have been thinking about awards like Marshall, Mitchell, Rhodes, Gates Cambridge, Churchill, Schwarzman, Knight-Hennessy, or NSF GRFP, please sign up for updates on our post-grad opportunities interest email list.

  • Be at least 18 but not yet 24

The Rhodes Scholarship, the oldest international educational fellowship, was initiated after the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902 and brings outstanding students from many countries around the world to the University of Oxford. Applicants are evaluated on academic merit (the average GPA of Rhodes Scholars is 3.9+; many Oxford programs require a minimum 3.7 or 3.8 GPA), as well as leadership and character. Students who have already been honored through other awards or recognitions are frequently strong applicants. Successful candidates are selected not only for outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and leadership in their intended career field. For more information, visit (US) or (international/Global).**

  • Application form
  • Personal statement
  • 5-8 letters of recommendation
  • Transcripts

**Non-US Rhodes competitions take place in the following countries/regions: Australia, Bermuda, Canada, China, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Jamaica and the Commonwealth Caribbean, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Southern Africa (including South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland), SJLP (Syria, Jordan, Lebanon and Palestine), United Arab Emirates, West Africa (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Principe and Togo), Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Students who hold citizenship or permanent residence in multiple countries should consult with NS&FP to identify through which country they should apply; age limits and residency/university attendance requirements vary by country. Visit the Rhodes Trust website for detailed eligibility requirements and information for candidates.


  • Leah Michalove (‘16C), Middle Eastern and South Asian Studies


  • Chelsea Jackson ('18C), Political Science; African American Studies
If you are interested in learning more about the application process and recommended timeline, visit our Canvas course.

If you are not currently enrolled in our Canvas course, please request registration.
Top of pageSkip to main content