Skip to main content

The Robert W. Woodruff Scholarship

The Robert W. Woodruff Scholarship, named for the renowned businessman and philanthropist who headed The Coca-Cola Company for many years and gave generously to Emory University, is the founding and signature scholarship of the Emory Scholars Program.

Young men and women who demonstrate qualities of forceful and unselfish character, intellectual and personal vigor, outstanding academic achievement, impressive communication skills, significant leadership and creativity in school or the broader community, and clear potential for enriching the lives of their contemporaries at Emory University receive these scholarships.

The Robert W. Woodruff Scholarship is awarded each year and is renewable for up to a total of eight regular academic semesters (fall and spring) of undergraduate study at Emory College of Arts and Sciences. The scholarship includes full tuition, fees, and on-campus room and board.

Robert W. Woodruff Scholars are a part of a larger community of Woodruff Scholars and Fellows which exist across all of the Colleges and Schools within Emory University. Robert W. Woodruff Scholars participate in events that bring together all campus Woodruff Scholars and Fellows for networking and community building.

The Emory Scholars Program provides students with much more than just a merit scholarship. We invest in every Emory Scholar's personal development through a set of programming and opportunities that complements the signature Robert W. Woodruff Scholarship.

Other Woodruff Scholarships

In addition to the standard Robert W. Woodruff Scholarship, several other scholarships are given as Woodruff Scholarships. The students selected take part in the same programming as regular Woodruff Scholars but their scholarship may have additional criteria and is named in a way to distinguish it. The Scholarships in this category include:


Woodruff Martin Luther King, Jr. (MLK, Jr.) Scholarship

Woodruff Debate Scholarship

Woodruff Music Scholarship

Woodruff Dean's Achievement Scholarship for Continuing Emory Students