Rhodes Scholarship

Global Rhodes Competition Internal Pre-application Deadline: May 31, 2018
United States Competition Internal Application Deadline: August 30, 2018**

Award Type: Academic
Area(s) of study: All fields
Award criteria: academic achievement; leadership
Award provides: Full cost of education for degrees in any field at the University of Oxford
Open to international students: The U.S. competition open to U.S. Citizens, U.S. Permanent Residents, and DACA recipients; there are additional Rhodes opportunities for international students, including the new Global Scholarship.**

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Be at least 18 but not yet 24

The Rhodes Scholarship, the oldest international educational fellowship, was initiated after the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902 and brings outstanding students from many countries around the world to the University of Oxford. Applicants are evaluated on academic merit (the average GPA of Rhodes Scholars is 3.9+; many Oxford programs require a minimum 3.7 or 3.8 GPA), as well as leadership and character. Students who have already been honored through other awards or recognitions are frequently strong applicants. Successful candidates are selected not only for outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and leadership in their intended career field. For more information, visit http://www.rhodesscholar.org/ (US) or https://www.rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk/scholarships/scholar-application-overview/ (international/Global).**

Application Components:

  • Application form
  • Personal statement
  • 5-8 letters of recommendation
  • Transcripts

For more information and to register your interest in the Rhodes Scholarship, complete the NS&FP Postgraduate Programs Interest Form.

You can also make an appointment with a National Scholarships and Fellowships Program advisor. We will help you determine your eligibility and, if you choose to apply, provide feedback on your application. Applicants may not apply directly, but must secure institutional nomination through our office.

**Non-US Rhodes competitions take place in the following countries/regions: Australia, Bermuda, Canada, China, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Jamaica and the Commonwealth Caribbean, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Southern Africa (including South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland), SJLP (Syria, Jordan, Lebanon and Palestine), United Arab Emirates, West Africa (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Principe and Togo), Zambia, and Zimbabwe. A new Global Rhodes Scholarship will be open to any student not eligible in the existing country-based competitions.

Students who hold citizenship or permanent residence in multiple countries should consult with NS&FP to identify through which country they should apply; age limits and residency/university attendance requirements vary by country. Visit the Rhodes Trust website for detailed eligibility requirements and information for candidates.