Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

COVID-19 updates for the Emory Community

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention issued new guidance regarding travelers returning to the U.S. from countries that have a Level 3 travel health notice (wide-spread, ongoing transmission). These countries include China, Iran, Italy and South Korea. The new guidance requires travelers stay home for 14 days from the time they left these countries in order to maintain social distancing.

Effectively immediately, Emory University will observe this guidance for all returning travelers, including faculty staff, and students. This means that all returning travelers must wait 14 days before returning to campus; travelers returning from these areas are prohibited from all areas of campus, including residence halls, classrooms, dining facilities, athletic facilities, workspaces and other university common space, as well as at other off-campus gatherings.

Given that many community members are leaving for spring break, it is imperative that all understand the ramifications of these new guidelines related to travel in China, Iran, Italy and South Korea. An update sent to the Emory community provides details on how to follow this directive and resources for questions and assistance.